label: detonator
producers: dj fakts one, dj static, dj chillout
guests: akrobatik, l.i.f.e.
1. Intro - Definition Of A Battle - Grandmaster Caz
2. Step This Way
3. Grain

4. Super-Breez!

5. The Heat Of The Battle
6. Between Dah Seams
7. Saki feat. Akrobatik & L.I.F.E.
8. Definition Of True Skills - Doug E. Fresh
9. Pro-Files


Pro-Files The EP

How many cats have we seen, that rip the mic onstage, with bragging freestyles, that shut opponents mouths quicker than mom shuts the cookie jar, but then can't bring the heat on a record? They are enormously dope when it's off the top, but once they step into a studio, armed with pen coined rhymes, the punchlines are as thin as the paper they are written on. What's up with that? That's an academic problem to be studied. One of the first cases to look at, could be Breez Evahflowin, the Blaze Battle champion, the dude that released the "Refined b/w On The Mic" shortly after his winning bout, now steps to us with the "Pro-Files - The EP".

Things first go into "Intro - Definition Of A Battle", where Grandmaster Caz talks about what a real battle is, as there are too many rookies that don't know: face to face, no shit talking on records necessary. But like Breez say "I can't hold my tongue like that" and so he goes for punchline galore on "Step This Way", that with a horn heavy beat and an annoying and stupid hook, fails to appeal. Just like the rest of this EP, this sounds old. Not the lines Breez goes through, but the production and his flow. He himself says "designed by the signs of time", well, of the times passed. Then again, the beat thing, could be overlooked, as this is similar to battles. During battles, the beat usually being something known, is not the main focus, but just provides the platform. So Breez should be up to the task. However, he leaves us with the unsatisfied desire for inevitable quotables.

Showing that he's not just about the braggadocios, Breez is doing a profile description of some shorty on "Grain". Or basically he talks about all being relative, and only to be tasted with a grain of salt. He does that over a DJ Static beat, that is not enormously appealing, but solid. The same can be said about the DJ Chillout beat on "Super-Breez!". But at least the cinematography approach is well fitting for Breez' sinister and adventurous rhyming. The timing was well chosen though, as the EP goes into a live bit ("The Heat Of The Battle"), where Breez is ripping his contestant a new asshole, and this reminds us why we listened to this record in the first place.

And "Between Dah Seams" is cool, kinda funky and party ready. The punchlines got the smiling appeal and get an approving nod. Of course, the EP should be only made up of tracks like this one. We seem to be going in the right direction too, giving a nod to the asianamatic "Saki", that succeeds, due to the sounds hooked up by DJ Static. And Breez teams up with Akrobatik and L.I.F.E. to do some collective boasting, messing up opponents heads, like too much of the sake drink. The track that gives the EP its name, follows suit. "Pro-Files" does also further confirm that the tracks on here sound old. The flow and production is done in ways, that used to be the new thing 6 years ago.

What leaves us with saying that the whole EP is not hitting us too hard, but better fits the category of 'dude got freestyle lyrics, now is doing something solid, but not as mind blowing, as when he came off the dome'. But maybe the lackluster beats didn't inspire Breez to come up with much more. And so all we get is a record full of straight, gimmick free spitting, over linear beats. Maybe it's sad, that in today's times, that just ain't good and impressive enough.

review: tadah the byk

2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact