1. Intro Take One
2. Retroactive
3. Atomic Article
4. New Element
5. Rhyme Test
6. Degree Keys
7. Don't Use My Shit
8. Blessed Fallout
9. Songs To Remember
10. S.T.A.C.I. (Step on The Transport)
11. Newsflash From Vol. 10
12. Risk?
13. Wizard Is In
14. Motion Lesson
15. Closed Captioned
16. Working Title
17. Final Thing


Dynamic Universe Volume 4

Okay, all creative thoughts in my head have now been suppressed, like it's 1984 and I'm eight years old again. And we can switch into boring review mode. It's less fun, but makes more sense. Then again, listening to this record "Dynamic Universe Volume 4", done by Dynamics Plus of the Lenzmen Cyphers and it actually being two EPs, one being "Run From The Fallout" and the other being "Dynamic Forces In Motion", the assumption shall be allowed, that Plus would enjoying it, if this review would not restrain itself. Maybe he got a headache too.

Things start with an eerie "Intro Take One", that builds the bridge to "Retroactive". And like one of the five elements in the hundred numbers, this drops down on you, and provokes unwanted illnesses to grow inside of you. Somehow we ended up on a carrousel and are now working hard to not get dizzy. And be it a dreamscape or soundscape, this leaves no option for an escape. Of course this is paraphrased. And let's gulp that bottle of Evian, return to naïveté and drown in the flow of "Atomic Article". Dynamics Plus shines like a dynamited diamond, and lucky us, we got that "Chemistry 101" book besides us. And lucky us, the producer remains unaccredited, or we'd be jocking him like a rodeo rider. We then enter no. 106 with "New Element", that Plus opens with a similar vibe as he did the other tracks. The beat lags behind on this track, and so we can relax a little from the running away, as the umbrella that protects us from the fallout, will withstand for two and a half minutes.

But something strange is happening on "Rhyme Test". Not like a 'one two, one two', this tests our ability to follow where Plus is disappearing to. And we thought he was about to show us the rooms of his residence. But things are not that easy, but things are finished rather quickly, as this guy knows what he wants to do, him being on some hit and run operatus. That's also how "Degree Keys" and "Don't Use My Shit" suddenly become one. Then again, at the beginning of "Don't Use My Shit" they become two. And Plus talks about battle snitches. And the only thing that surprises us, that the kid was actually getting what Plus threw in his face. But we don't have time to elaborate on that, as one of the best tracks of this album comes on next: "Blessed Fallout". While we doubt that Plus would enjoy being cloned, he'd certainly would enjoy being sat in one of these vessels that is sent out into space, hoping that another intelligence will find it, pick it up and understand. That would be like The Hole for some, but a plush pillow for Plus. Believe me.

We want to finish part one of this record now, but are keeping our attention through "Songs To Remember" and "S.T.A.C.I. (Step On The Transport)". The first sounds like a long desired return, the latter like the conclusion to something that has just fucked you up proper.

Part two, aka "Dynamic Forces In Motion", is the filled up space ship, kerosene, still dropping off the filling station. The instrumental first chapter "Newsflash From Vol. 10" is highly addictive, and asks to be flowed over. Now if only such beats would be used for all those freestyle battles, radio shows, movie soundtracks, custard fudge advertisements, we'd be sugar addict. "Risk?" on the other hand is like a bungee jump, not caring how long the rope is. It will be long enough. Too long? That's the risk. And because a lot of alien documents are actually filmed in butchery backrooms, plug some electrodes in the according brain area, measuring the brain activity, and watching black and white movies will still need the ability to see color. That's the complexity of it. And "Wizard Is In" shows you how to combine butter cup sweetness with the complicating rhymes, the advanced level rhyme content, that makes 101 not good enough anymore.

And the funny thing about motion is, that it always depends on what you measure it against: like when you walk, as measured to something moving along with you, you stand still. Or does our planet move south, or west, or left or right, or not at all? And when you study "Motion Lession", does it just move quicker, or deeper, or not at all? Depends on what you measure it with, compare it too. Then again, it doesn't, as we give this track, and the whole album, so much props (you just haven't realized it yet), that the level of motion is beyond our primitive means of measurement. Call it ether. Call "Closed Caption" what you want, but make sure dope is one of the attributes you apply to it.

Fuck, to tell you the truth, it's boring to write this review. This album is too dope to even find reason to not say so. Of course a "Working Title" is lagging a little behind, like a high ping number, but it's still dope. Of course the flow does not change, also not on "Final Thing", and of course, it's hard to follow Dynamics Plus' rhymes, but that's what you always proclaim to want. You are not on an Easy Listening fan page. If you are not willing to sit down and be taken on a ride, then why did you buckle up? It's not like this trip sucked the first time, and that's why you want to repeat it. That's not why you bought tickets that will last for a month. And so all that should scare you about this record is, that it makes you wonder how many other artists and records are out there that you've never heard of, that are so exquisitely dope.

review: tadah the byk

© 2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact