producers: funkghost

click to see the rating scale explanation
1. Introduction
2. Ultra-Boogie Highlife
3. The Fabulous...
4. U Can Get Down
5. Melodic Nectar
6. Soul Emporium Suite
7. Grand Incredible Sound
8. Mic Flam's Midnight Moodiness
9. Instructions 'S.F.D.P. Anthem'
10. Flavor Splash!
11. 3am Deluxe
12. Tampa International
13. Live And Direct 'From The Casbah'
14. Starshine


Ultra-Boogie Highlife

There are two things that come with this CD, that will cause you to be all prejudiced about it. The first thing is the self printed cover, that is then explained as necessary, due to some copyright hassle. And the second, the one regular pic you get, shows the Funkghost, chilling on a tiger fur, and looking like Big Daddy Kane during his most macking days. Then again we don't even know who Funkghost is. And there are a bunch of different emcees rhyming, and they are not credited on the one print out paper we got (but we probably should have asked, huh?). So these things will let you be suspicious when it comes to putting the record in and checking it out. But the pleasant surprise is only the bigger, once the album starts to play, and you are asked to "surrender your ears, surrender your ears to the supremely exotic sounds, and pulsating beats", and after only a few minutes, you as if willingness, do so.

Funk says this quote on "Introduction", an opening cut, complete with jazzy organs, and other peoples voices, who you wonder who that is, and wish there'd be a proper cover to let you know. But there's not much time to ponder such thoughts, as we are already entering "Ultra-Boogie Highlife". You will hear that Funk is actually not about macking, as this is on some good old bragging and boasting vibe, that is spit in a rather quick flow, over a not totally pleasing whistle and hopping beat. Much better is "The Fabulous...", that is actually returning to velvet like sound structures, and opens with a collage of nifty voice samples. Rather quickly the track changes though, still remaining in soft clusters, as we enter some Tampa (where he is from) night travel. The beat is definitely cool on this track, and lyrically we remain in the same ballpark as the track before.

Living up to his name, well, more the first than the last part, Funk hooks up a guitar for "U Can Get Down", with guests lending their voice to the track, that is rather interrupted than completed with the chorus. And so we continue to "Melodic Nectar", that takes us into darker atmospheres, that sound familiar, without us having heard 'em before, but with it settling in on us so comfortable. With more reflective lyrics, the track is once more a big extra to what we feared this album would be limited to. And the incredibly silky production, that is as smooth as the slickest hustler outta the funkiest Blacksploitation movie, is further continued on "Soul Emporium Suite", that consists of a host of people giving props to the man behind the boards.

On "Grand Incredible Sound", and it gets rather unneeded to actually mention it, the beat once more is very nice, with a lot of voice elements, being added, scratches and the jazzyness giving this track again our full approval. The voice Funk does his braggadocios rhymes is just as smooth and he keeps the flow accessible, still leaping a little behind though, if we'd had to say what he does better, beats or rhymes. You can hear how easy it must be for him to sex ladies up, when he goes into the talked "Mic Flam's Midnight Moodiness". The production on "Instructions 'S.F.D.P. Anthem'" once more is miraculous, magical with the female singing, the ease it has. This is the chilling on sofas track, and being content with accomplishments. And that's actually the vibe it gives you, being content, pleased with oneself. People that are always running after the what they don't have and neglecting the what they have don't make music like this.

With all the praise that we pour down over the record, maybe there's one thing that we could mention, that's on the other side of the spectrum of things to say: once "Flavor Splash!" comes on, you might be wondering if Funkghost has a completely different style in him too. Things do sound somewhat similar, or very much of the same family, throughout the album. Putting a female emcee on this track, does give you a new rock though, to continue to building of your pile. Maybe "3am Drive" is as switched up as this gets, with the pace picking up, and us getting a party track, that will get you moving, and not just lounging. Lyrically the content is definitely fitting the vibe the track gives you, and so we got another success story. And just like always, once you try to conclude something, you are proven wrong, as "Tampa International" is not as silky and velvet like, as the other tracks, it still being smooth though. Funkghost is not keeping that up for long though, as he goes back to the guitar, the good time emotions of "Live And Direct 'From The Casbah'", that is just one example of the incredibility the tracks have, here with all the voices, heck even the seagull at the end. The production is so complete and totally rounded out, it deserves the name of compositions, what is much more than just a beat. And once more the vibe is fitting the content confidentially. We are then only being left with "Starshine", that does more of the elaborated styles of before, without losing a step though.

So what now? Are you stuck in a place where the sun don't shine, and where the gritty concrete of the streets you walk on, prevent you from even thinking of better days, of warm glistening sunbeams tickling your skin, that have you chill back, have your sprits be heated up and lay your head on the smooth surface of a blanket that good moods give to you to find a moment of true relaxation? Man, rid yourself of these shackles and board the Funkghost ship that will carry you into the sunset.

review: tadah the byk

2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact